Posted on Tue, Dec 12, 2017 under Announcement, Uncategorized

Central Indiana Community Foundation Announces Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Recipients
Students in Marion, Hamilton counties receive full-tuition scholarships for up to four years

INDIANAPOLIS (Dec. 12, 2017)— Central Indiana Community Foundation announced the 13 recipients of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships for both Marion and Hamilton counties. Scholars will receive up to four years of full tuition to attend any accredited public or private not-for-profit college or university in Indiana.

High schools in each county submitted two students for consideration by the nominating committees at The Indianapolis Foundation, the CICF affiliate serving Marion County, and Legacy Fund, the CICF affiliate serving Hamilton County. Seventy-nine and 33 students were interviewed in each county, respectively, and finalists’ names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana Inc. for final selection.

The Hamilton County Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship selection committee at Legacy Fund selected the following students for scholarships:

  • Grace Sorrells, Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School
  • Joseph Bergin, Hamilton Southeastern High School
  • Kylie Whipple, Noblesville High School
  • Matthew Farrell, Guerin Catholic High School

The Marion County Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship selection committee at The Indianapolis Foundation selected the following students for scholarships:

  • Aiysha Amjad, Lawrence Central High School
  • Binuri Hapuarachchy, Crispus Attucks High School
  • Darrin Gee, Bishop Chatard High School
  • Franciso Guerra, Ben Davis University High School
  • Jack Peyton, Herron High School
  • Jayla Sloan, Perry Meridian High School
  • Jenifer ZavaletaCruz, George Washington High School
  • Madeline Sersic, University High School
  • Maria De Leon, Crispus Attucks High School

A total of 143 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships were awarded as part of the statewide Lilly Endowment initiative, which has awarded 4,340 scholarships and $372 million since 1998.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, not-for-profit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.

Central Indiana Community Foundation (CICF) is a $720 million public foundation transforming the lives of Central Indiana residents in three ways: consulting donors, family foundations and their professional advisors on charitable giving; awarding grants to effective not-for-profit organizations; and providing leadership to address community needs and seize opportunities. CICF was established in 1997 as a partnership between The Indianapolis Foundation, serving Marion County since 1916, and Legacy Fund, serving Hamilton County since 1991. For more information about CICF, visit, or call 317.634.2423.